Les Ladbury

Details of and discussion about club news & events (excluding races)

Moderators: Philip Whiteman, WorcsPhil, Beacon RCC, George, laurence_cooley, David Cole

George

Les Ladbury

Post by George » 24 Mar 2020 21:43

Sadly, the club has lost another of its culture-defining characters. Les Ladbury died on Sunday at the age of 78. He had a degenerative lung condition, which he had known for some time was incurable; as far as we know his death had nothing to do with the current public health crisis.

Les started with the Speedwell BC, before switching to the Beacon in about 1960. He soon became a central figure in club life, with his dry wit and flair for sometimes provocative but always affectionate repartee. Racing on the road and the track, Les showed himself to be a wily tactician, often outwitting opponents who otherwise would have had the edge.

Les was originally a draftsman by profession but enjoyed a second career as a professional photographer. His meticulous and precise nature made him well suited to both roles and gained him a reputation within the club for invariably riding an immaculate machine.

Lifelong Francophiles, Les and wife Anne bought a second home in France and spent a large part of their later years on the Gallic side of the Channel.

The picture at the bottom shows Les leading the Birmingham-Llangollen-Birmingham reliability trial in February 1961. Les is the right-hand rider of the front pair, alongside Rod Goodfellow.

Unfortunately, the present circumstances make it unlikely we can give Les the send-off he deserves. Nevertheless, information about his funeral will be posted here as soon as we get it.

George

Re: Les Ladbury

Post by George » 24 Mar 2020 21:50