Jockey wheels

Swap notes about technical issues

Moderators: Philip Whiteman, Andy Terry

Johnnyc

Jockey wheels

Post by Johnnyc » 23 Jun 2009 19:50

After having an alarming moment during the 200k Audax, where my rear mech started playing up - I think it may be time to replace the jockey wheels.

Anyone know what a good replacement would be?

It's a Shimano 10 Speed - Dura ace 7800 mech.

Dave Cox

Post by Dave Cox » 23 Jun 2009 21:16

I'm no expert but I'd be surprised if they needed replacing, I dont think I've ever replaced any.

Neil Compton

Post by Neil Compton » 23 Jun 2009 21:24

What was happening John?

Johnnyc

Post by Johnnyc » 23 Jun 2009 21:42

Got this clack, clack, clacking sound - thought a spoke had gone. Phil said he saw the mech sort of jumping backwards and forwards. This only happened once - but with quite a way to go, I was dreading having a mechanical!

One of the jockey wheels doesn't really spin freely - thought maybe the bearings were going in it.

I had reset the mech the night before - because it had been sticking slightly in the middle range of gears - I tweaked the Hi limiter screw a little - maybe this was a little off - but the gear changes were smooth enough the night before...

Andy M

Post by Andy M » 23 Jun 2009 22:12

It's not very often you have to change jockey wheels---a lot of gear changing probs come from stiff links in the chain--this can cause the rear gear cage to jump. I suggest give everything a good cleaning and lubricating. I've seen some jockey wheels worn really badly but still working fine. If the freewheel locks up it has the same effect---how old is the equipment ? A few drops of light oil sometimes works.
Good luck.

Johnnyc

Post by Johnnyc » 23 Jun 2009 22:22