Direction Course Points

Swap notes about technical issues

Moderators: Philip Whiteman, Andy Terry

AlanW

Direction Course Points

Post by AlanW » 16 Jun 2012 13:52

I have never used these before but have been messing about adding them to some old courses/routes so that I can load them onto my Edge 500.

I was using bikehike and all was going well until I tried to load it to the GPS, and for what ever I couldn't get it to send? To be fair i wasnt getting any error message it just hung and consequently refused to do anything?

My question, do you send it as a .gpx file or a .tcx file, and does it make a difference?

And are there any sites better than bikehike for doing this?
"You only need two tools: WD40 and duct tape. If it doesn't move and it should, use WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't, use duct tape"

Si_Walker

Post by Si_Walker » 16 Jun 2012 19:01

I have found bikeroutetoaster.com site to be quite reliable for downloads to both file and my edge 900 gps. It recommends a .tcx file download for the Garmin edge units and it is capable of uploads and downloads in both .tcx and .gpx, so maybe you could try your file on this site to see if you get it in the format you want.

Si_Walker

Post by Si_Walker » 16 Jun 2012 19:03

sorry should have been 800!

AlanW

Post by AlanW » 18 Jun 2012 08:58

Thanks, is there a limit to the number of points that you can add?
"You only need two tools: WD40 and duct tape. If it doesn't move and it should, use WD40. If it moves and it shouldn't, use duct tape"

Andy Terry

Post by Andy Terry » 18 Jun 2012 10:45

don't know for Edge 500 but Vista HCx can hold 1,000 waypoints

AlanW

Post by AlanW » 18 Jun 2012 11:13

Andy Terry wrote:don't know for Edge 500 but Vista HCx can hold 1,000 waypoints
Bear with me, but aren't waypoints and course points slightly different things, ie a course point contains more detail? And as such files containing course points should ideally be in a .tcx format?

Andy Terry