Bike book - help needed

Swap notes about technical issues

Moderators: Philip Whiteman, Andy Terry

JulietEngland

Bike book - help needed

Post by JulietEngland » 09 May 2013 20:35

Hello
My name is Juliet England and I am a freelance writer. I am writing a book for a publisher called Need2Know books which aims to be a comprehensive guide for beginner cyclists.
I would really appreciate some help on the various parts of a bike and how they fit together, cycling technique, how to clean a bike, benefits of club membership, common injuries and how to avoid/treat them and some basic bike maintenance.
Ideally, I would do this by Skype or email.
Is there anyone who may be able to help?
I am very happy to offer acknowledgement in my Acknowledgements section.
Thanks so much in advance, also if anyone can offer me a few lines on "why I cycle" that would be fantastic. Would need a first name, rough age, rough area where you live and a few lines,
Thank you
Juliet

HAZBRO

Post by HAZBRO » 09 May 2013 21:27

Club Bonuses - Free/ cheaper repairs, advice and support from fellow club members, this can consist if buying a bike, also you build a friendship around all the club members and become a cycling family, if you know what i mean.
Also clubs provide club runs where riders can go on a ride together at a good pace and enjoy a ride, providing the weather isn't bad, this is much better than riding by yourself to most people, even in the extremes. You learn new skills, as you build and master your own techniques on how to fix/ or repair a bike, this can be from a **flat** or a broken chain. When you club ride you learn, the road and have to treat everyone on it as equals.
I could go on forever but I've got work to do:)
Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.

Philip Whiteman

Post by Philip Whiteman » 10 May 2013 10:23

I suggest that beginner riders may also be interested in further catagories not listed. To beginners these may mystical and require explanation: