Weight loss in cyclists

Swap notes about technical issues

Moderators: Philip Whiteman, Andy Terry

Tim

Weight loss in cyclists

Post by Tim » 10 Feb 2017 07:11

http://www.rule5cyclingcoaching.com/new ... like-a-pro

Thought I'd share as it's that time of year. Good simple advice here, the Dos especially. Personally think very low calorie diets can have their place for some people and especially the 5:2 diet (Dr Michelle Harvie version) but the Dos should help achieve weight loss.
Please like and follow Beacon Cycling Academy https://www.facebook.com/pages/Beacon-C ... 6499863667

petemarshall

Post by petemarshall » 10 Feb 2017 17:37

Hopefully most people will avoid the weight loss techniques often used by pros as Clenbuterol, Kenalog etc, combined with ridiculously low carb diets aren't exactly healthy. 😱

laurence_cooley

Post by laurence_cooley » 10 Feb 2017 18:15

I've been doing many of the things on the "do" list for a couple of years now - not for weight loss, but mainly starting with a conversation with a dentist about energy drinks, after which I got a bit obsessive about avoiding added sugar in general. I can't remember the last time I bought a chocolate bar (apart from the odd Lindt 90 per cent cocoa one, which has all of 7g sugar per 100g) and I can't say I really miss them. In fact, my taste seems to have changed such that I enjoy sour-tasting things (e.g. plain yoghurt) much more than I used to. As long as they're not too long, water is fine on most rides too.

George

Post by George » 11 Feb 2017 11:24

I've never been tempted by the 'Don't', so I haven't.

I don't do several of the 'Dos' (chocolate, fried food, alcohol), but most of the others I've done all my life.

At 57, I weigh the same as I did when I was 21.

laurence_cooley

Post by laurence_cooley » 11 Feb 2017 11:33

Well, I'm about 18kg lighter than I was in my mid-20s, but very little of that is due to cutting sugar out (probably quite a lot is thanks to drinking less beer though)!